Everything I Got Rid Of – Part One

I finally get to write down everything I got rid of in my last apartment for you as an update here. I’d like to get that done before I start telling you how I’m getting on with my mess in my new home 😉 You wouldn’t believe how much it was… In fact – I didn’t even believe how much it was myself…! While looking for the accurate pictures here to display on this post I feel my chest tightening and an uneasy feeling creeping over me… And then, a massive amount of relief because I know that all that stuff ins just GONE!!!

I’ve heard it many times before that people say that moving is a good excuse or reason to finally declutter your life and get rid of many things you haven’t used in ages. In the end of my stay at the old place, I just didn’t get to go over everything the way I wished – by using the Konmari Method for instance and what else not… That ended up giving me an immense amount of stress because I knew that Moving Day was coming closer and I didn’t want to take all this sh** to my new home, but wanted to go over things first… It happened at times that I would just wander around grabbing things randomly and put them all in my Brocki bags, not going by category or anything anymore because I was just too overwhelmed and there was no time to spare.

Also, for my new home I wanted to renew a few bits of furniture, to make a clear point and new start. I nearly couldn’t believe I’d get rid of my beloved watermarked-purple sofadark purple sofa ❀ It nearly broke my heart… But after all those episodes of weird happenings going on with The Man I had an incredible urge to move into a bright place with light colours. Living in an apartment on the first floor for four years that was really dark might also have helped me with my decision – I was just sick of the darkness and was watermarked-tn_gap of gone sofain desperate need of sunshine and anything light and bright. So I figured the sofa had to go 😩 I loved it and it was the most comfy sofa to nap on but it just wouldn’t fit my new image I had in my mind for my new place.

 

I found someonewatermarked-tn_table full of stuff to give away that would come collect it for the new owner. The new owner told me that this man also regularly traveled to flea markets and would take anything I wouldn’t want to take along anymore. I grabbed this opportunity and ran around the house again to display a few things I thought he could sell well at a flea market. I set them up on the table for him to choose – in the end he took everything 🙂 We were both more than happy, me probably even more because I heard he was a single dad and that way he could get himself some extra cash.watermarked-tn_clear table after giving away stuff

With the table clear again I got on and gave away my closet – well, the big one anyhow. I merged two closets into one but the lady I gave it to didn’t have enough space for both. I was really happy to give it away and so was she, as she was moving to Switzerland from abroad and didn’t have a single piece of furniture with her. It was a lovely encounter and her, her partner and me laughed a lot while helping each other dismantling the closet. In a funny way I was actually really grateful to have met these four persons I gave things away to. They were lovely persons, good-hearted, and just one of those encounters you like remembering 🙂 It was all a nice cheer amongst my rather dull and hard time I was having back then.

watermarked-closet gone 01So here I was, happy to have given away a closet, but crushed down with another problem since everything that was IN and ON the closet was now scattered all around the place… But at least I was able to fill that gap with moving boxes and get on with everything for a bit. Step by step, I was getting everything done…

watermarked-closet gone 02At one point I went up to the attic and nearly lost it… All that clutter smacked me in the face and I could’ve burst into tears right there and then… Most of that stuff on the pictures here below was mine. How on earth could you have so.much.stuff…? With time pressing up against my back, I had to do quick decisions and tried to do them as good as I could. Along with me into my tiny tiny new basement only came some of the travel and sport gear, sewing cloths and the sentimental stuff such as photo albums I just plainly hadn’t had the time to go through before the Big Day, and also wasn’t ready to yet anyhow… So that’s all still with me – everything else went…!!! Either to the charity shop or just on the street – the puppet didn’t last 30min on the street 😉

watermarked-tn_attic full of stuff 01 watermarked-tn_attic full of stuff 02

I am gathering and preparing all the pictures of all of my Brocki bags for you to show you how much more got out my old house 😉 And I will be posting the last of the videos about my Tidy-Up-Challenge and a summary of everything that left my old house but didn’t make it to my new one – including a review about my year with the Konmari method 🙂 You see – lot’s of plans here on my messy world – so stay tuned for more 🙂

2 thoughts on “Everything I Got Rid Of – Part One

    1. …it is!!! Stuff is SO so bad… I totally understand now what Marie Kondo means – that if you have less stuff you are free and have more time… Imagine not having to go through all that stuff…!!! A big purge really is the ideal thing to do… I hope all went well with your move – I definitely have to go back and catch up on your blog ❀ Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment ❀ ❀ ❀

      Like

A penny for your thoughts... <3

