Weekly Photo Challenge – Narrow

When I think of “narrow” I immediately think of places where I had to squeeze through in order to get somewhere… Like cave excursions, narrow roads (squeezing through by car), tiny entrances to places… Or these two weird openings I squeezed myself through three years ago in order to follow lore and tradition… and a wee bit of fun of course 😉

First one was the sunken church on the Irish island Inisheer, the smallest of the three Aran Islands off the west coast. A gorgeous site with the church literally sunk in a bed of sand with the graveyard elevated around it. Quite a sight! I visited the place together with a local fella whose name must be written somewhere in my travel diary which I can’t find at the moment…^^ He’d visit the island at least once a year, ever since he was a child, and told me a few great stories about some of the places. One story was that if you managed to squeeze yourself through the window that was behind the old altar you were supposed to get lucky. The thing is, he didn’t remember exactly which way… So I tried to squeeze myself from the inside of the ruin to the outside. Being well dressed for Irish weather with several layers apparently I misjudged the opening and got stuck for a while…^^ Which was quite comical in a way, him asking me to help me (How? Pull my arm? Push my behind 😀 ?) but after some shuffling around I finally made it and was pretty glad about it 😉 Who knows if I did it in the right direction and if that really got me lucky… 😉

watermarked-wpc - narrow inisheer

The second time I squeezed myself through a narrow spot that year was at the monastery in Amarbayasgalant in Mongolia. There is this stupa-sort of thing where you’re supposed to squeeze yourself in from one side, try to get up, turn around three times I think it was, and get out the other side again. And then you’re supposed to be “reborn” 🙂 Silly me, loving the story about it, tried to do that of course… Barely got in there, could barely turn around and barely made it out alive… but surely felt reborn with laughter 😉

watermarked-wpc - narrow amarbayasgalant

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/narrow/

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/narrow/">Narrow</a>

A penny for your thoughts... <3

