Friday Flow #45: A Christmassy Playlist For You

That’s it – in less than a week it’s Christmas Eve already… Time to start wrapping pressies if you haven’t started yet 😀 I’d like to share some of the nicest winter- / Christmas songs that I love listening to while decorating and wrapping pressies. Who knows – maybe one song or the other will touch your heart as well and accompany you through some nice preparation moments too? It’s always beautiful to share things, isn’t it ❤

1.) “Jauchzet frohlocket” from the Christmas Oratorio by J. S. Bach

About a decade ago I came across the Christmas Oratorio by Johann Sebastian Bach, one of my favourite composers. Ever since, some friends and I have been making a tradition of listening to it at concert halls every single year around Christmas time. I love it so much, it’s so festive and just plainly beautiful ❤ I am particularly fond of the first piece, but the whole thing is really worth a listen. I found this video of the 70ies – it’s SO 70ies that I thought even if you are not eager about classical music at least you’d have some entertainment watching the video 😉 (btw – I’ve never heard this being sung by only male singers – very impressive those boys!!!)

This one is also one of my favourite pieces of the whole Oratorio and one I love putting on repeat on my CD 😉 I found a gorgeous version of it here:

2.) Christmas Oratorio by Camille Saint-Saëns

Let’s stay in the classical section for another while – another Oratorio which is massively shorter but not less beautiful is the one written by Camille Saint-Saëns. I was lucky enough to once participate in a choir performing that oratorio twice just before Christmas… It was such a beautiful festive feeling I will never forget and it’s another CD I love listening to during Christmas time.

And again, I have to point out to my favourite piece of the whole oratorio – a piece that if, beautifully sung, can bring you shivers down your spine:

3.) Von den Elben by Faun

This is one of the first songs I ever listen to as soon as it starts getting chilly outside and darker. It’s actually just a song about Fairies in Old German but it’s so catchy and goes so well with an ambiance in candles and Christmas Holidays.

4.) Soillse na Nollag by Altan

This is one of the few Irish Christmas songs in Gaelic, written by the lead singer of the Irish band “Altan”. I’ve heard her perform this song live – wow!!! It’s featured on their CD “25th Anniversary Celebration” which I also love listening to (and not only in winter time 🙂 ). I think it’s a gorgeous Irish song.

5.) Shalom Chaverim (traditional)

I don’t know why I connect this song to the Christmas season – it has nothing to do with Christmas, but I think we all think more about the problems on our planet during Christmas time and wish for others to have a better life. At least, that’s the way I was brought up in my family. Christmas always had a touch of sadness with it – we were lucky enough to have a family, a home and a meal, but many others didn’t. That was always a very impressive thought back when I was a child. So maybe that’s why I connect this song with Christmas – wishing for more peace amongst humans. I found a beautiful version of it here:

6.) Chiquirriquitin (traditional villancico)

When thinking about Christmas I have a very different perspective of it as well as I was also brought up with lots of Christmas carols in Spanish (called “villancicos”) which are usually very merry 🙂 Here’s one of my favourite ones – I found this band called “The Kelly Family” performing it really really nicely:

I love singing along to that 😉 The Spanish language can be very intriguing when trying to speak fastly 😀

7.) Peces (traditional villancico)

Another really cool villancico I adored as a child was “peces” which means “fish” – the lyrics talk about “fish drinking in the river as they see the child is  born” which I always thought was pretty funny 😉 This is another tongue-breaker-like song which also has some sort of meditative effect as you could sing it forever… It’s kinda soothing 😉

8.) Aurtxo Polita (traditional)

This one is a Basque cradle song I used to sing and listen to a lot in wintertime as well. I immediately loved it always makes me think of my great grand parents who were Basques. Sorry – it’s the same group again, but I honestly can’t find nicer versions of it…

9.) Still, Still, Still (traditional)

Another beautiful cradle song from Austria – very soothing, sad and somewhat still festive. I found this beautiful version of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. It’s surely worth watching, if even only for the massive pipe organ in the back – wow 🙂

10.) Oh Holy Night (traditional)

Out of the many English carols this must be my very favourite one. It’s so powerful in the melody that it really touches your heart. It’s great to sing along as well 😀

11.) Les Anges Dans Nos Campagnes (traditional)

I’m sure you’ve also heard this song before. My favourite version of it is the French version though – the lyrics flow like honey and it’s a fantastic piece to sing along while wrapping pressies 😉

12.) Entre le boeuf et L’âne gris (traditional)

This is another beautiful repetitive and soothing French Christmas carol. It’s also very nice to play on the guitar (and of course – to sing along as well 😉 )

13.) En helle Stärn by Andrew Bond

To finish I’d like to introduce you to a beautiful Christmas carol in Swiss German (yes, I know… 😉 ). We used to sing this at school and I loved the two different melodies mingling with each other. This man Andrew Bond wrote loads of Christmas songs in Swiss German, they’ve become very popular amongst kids and everyone knows them and grew up singing them 😉 This one is about a very bright star up in the sky.

14.) Drei Haselnüsse für Aschenbrödel (OST)

Wait… How could I even think about finishing this list without mentioning the soundtrack of the best Advent movie ever?! Another CD that is always handy around this season ❤ :

Well I hoped you’ve enjoyed my little playlist 🙂 If you’d like to keep it you’re very welcome to go to my Youtube channel and save it.

What are your favourite winter- & Christmas songs? I’d love to hear them 🙂

Enjoy the Advent season ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A penny for your thoughts... <3

