Homage To My Granny

tn_abuelita

My lovely dear Abuelita (granny) passed away today 😦 Last Friday, she turned 86 years. She fell and broke her hip a few weeks ago, and at that age that’s usually the beginning of a chain of health issues 😦 She was the only granny I ever had, and she’s always lived far away 😦 I always envied those who lived close to grandparents, as I never really knew what it was like to have any.

She truly was a character though – she could be so stubborn and still so cute and loving. When we’d stay with her in my childhood, she’d show me how to pick out the bad rice grains from the good ones. So I sat in her rocking chair in the sun, picking out the bad rice grains. Or the bad beans. I loved doing that for her.

And I loved her cooking! Her cooking was the.best.ever!!! Even better than my mum’s, and that surely means something 😉 I’ll never forget her fantastic breakfasts of arepas (fried corn buns), white cheese, fried yucca and milk coffee. Every now and then, I still prepare myself such a breakfast and dearly think of her.tn_abuelita comida

Her dinners were immense! Loads (…and I mean: loads!) of food, fried rice with coconut, patacones, platanos, beans and what not… Oh, and always that big jar of freshly pressed fruit. Cold melon juice – I’ll never forget about that!!! ❤

I’m glad I got to see her again a little while ago. I’m glad I got to talk to her on the phone every now and then. I’m sad I won’t ever be able to talk to her again and laugh or argue with her, or watch a telenovela on TV… I bought this really cheesy 3D postcard for her on my last trip abroad. It had animals photoshoped on the picture and it was such a bad photoshop – but I knew she’d like that because she loves animals and cheesy stuff… Two months ago I found it again while cleaning up my desk – and I meant to send it to her… I procrastinated doing so… I hate that I didn’t send it out – now it’s too late… 😦

Te quiero abuelita linda ❤ ❤ ❤

20 thoughts on “Homage To My Granny

  1. My deepest condolences on your grandma’s passing away. I never got to meet my own grannies so on this note, you are blessed to have wonderful memories of her 🙂 You now have one more angel looking out for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My deepest condolences for your loss. Dealing with the passing of a loved one is always hard. I’m glad you have so many fond memories of her, and thank you for sharing them with us. She sounds like a lovely granny. Sending you lots of love during this difficult time ❤ *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

A penny for your thoughts... <3

