Friday Flow #41: When Things Just Flow Along

Do you know those days when everything seems to come together? When little events happen along and flow right into what needed to be done and the hours seem to be running smoothly along the day?

It’s a tiny thing, really. But somehow, as it was all going well today, it made me very happy and content. It’s not like the perfect day or so, but just everything came along matching everything else smoothly…

It started when I was going back home from work and wanted to catch some of the last few sunrays of the day. As I was writing in this other Friday Flow issue before, this October and now November has been quite mild, unusually mild to be honest. It doesn’t feel like winter is coming at all^^ When out in the sun, you can take off your jacket, even your jumper! And when walking you don’t hurry back home yearning for warmth but feel comfortable strolling along the streets for a little while longer.

So as I was thinking of the Sihlfeld Cemetery again to sit down in the sun with my book for a little while, I came across their office which happened to be open. What a joy and surprise – as I usually never caught it to be open these days, and there was an exhibition I was really interested to see as the reviews seemed to be promising. So on I went into the old  building, happily receiving an audio guide and got ready to start the tour of the exhibition.

The exhibition might seem a bit peculiar to some as it is not an everyday topic being portrayed here. It is called “As long as I live, death will not be able to catch me”. To realize this project, journalist Tobias Wenzel traveled the world for four years and interviewed famous writers from all over the world at cemeteries of their choice. He managed to meet up with over 70 writers and publish their conversations in a book and audio series at the local radio.  Around half of these meet-ups were introduced at this current exhibition in Zürich.

With the audio guide you’d hear sounds of the surroundings, the voices of the writers and could listen to their tales. They talked about everything, and some conversations where really lovely and deep. As I was watching their big beautiful black and white photographs I could indulge into their stories, and before I knew it nearly two hours had passed!

I left the building refreshed, happy, inspired, and thoughtful. What a great exhibition that was! As I was walking home, I came across the most beautiful leaf I found this autumn – look at it:

watermarked-tn_autumn leaf

Isn’t it just gorgeous? I picked it up and it’s now between the pages of a magazine to be pressed and then hung up to decorate my wall.

As I kept walking, I passed a guitar shop – which was incredibly handy as I had just gotten back my electric guitar after several years and I had no guitar case for it. So I went in, had a chit chat with the owner and bought me a case and a new set of strings. Taking yet another street I usually don’t take I passed another shop which was perfect for an upcoming birthday gift for a friend.

Passing these places was all coincidence, but it just fit into my planning and lifted up some weight and stress as I now don’t need to do these things on extra errands, and even though I couldn’t soak up some sunlight, I came home happy and refreshed.watermarked-tn_chocolate stain 1.jpg

Opening up my rucksack I then found that I had forgotten about a chocolate treat which was given to me in a store, which had melted and stained some of my things that were in the bag. But nothing major, and as I know from this last time – chocolate can be washed up easily, so I brushed it off with a giggle and happy thoughts about a beautiful evening that just did me good ❤

watermarked-tn_chocolate stain 2

3 thoughts on “Friday Flow #41: When Things Just Flow Along

A penny for your thoughts... <3

