Friday Flow #39: Trading Work For Some Me-Time

watermarked-tn_autumn read 2

We are having an unusual mild autumn season. I mean, it’s november, and in some parts of the mountains temperatures rise up to around 23°C… These past afternoons the sun was shining and you nearly had the feeling it was spring time – if it wasn’t for the brightly coloured leaves on the trees all around you.

Last week the cold, foggy morning transformed itself into yet another gorgeous sunny day. And that’s when I made a decision: I was going to be out and enjoy one of the last possibilities of sunbathing outside before winter definitely takes over…

Most of my stuff at work was done, the most important things prepared or filed away. But I still stressed about and made a real early leave – of course, there is always more or at least something to do at work. But I wasn’t going to let that stop me from what I wanted to do.

I had bought a sandwich to eat on the way back from work to Zürich so at least I could enjoy myself for a few hours without getting jiggy and nervous out of hunger (or, as I like that word, without getting “hangry” 😉 ). I thought of a good place where you could get a good hold of the sun – usually the “Gold Coast”, which means the eastern side of the Zürich Lake would be it – there’s sunshine there until it sets, not interrupted by any building or tree. The thing is – it’s usually very crowded and loud, specially on sunny days… And then, it hit me – watermarked-tn_sihlfeld cemetarythere was another spot I knew that would be easily reached by tram and bus where you could surely find a sunny spot to sit on peacefully: the Sihlfeld Cemetery.

You might think it a bit morbid to want to go relax to a cemetery, but the Sihlfeld is really a special place. It’s sort of like a park as well, and on weekends or sunny weekdays you see loads of families and people going out for a walk or having a rest there. It’s a really beautiful place.

I grabbed my stuff and walked around to find a sunny bench, when I found an even better place: a tree that looked as if it was exploding with orange and yellow leaves. The ground next to it wasn’t wet, and it was covered in a beautiful layer of dead leaves that isolated the cold of the earth and replaced the blanket I didn’t have with me to sit on.

As the sun was wandering in the sky, I kept shifting my spot on the ground as well. I started out leaning myself to the tree trunk, and ended up watermarked-tn_autumn readlying on the ground further off, nearly napping in the sunshine. It was a splendid afternoon and I soaked in every sun ray that touched my skin. I laid there, reading my book, and it was peaceful and quiet, and specially warm around me. I felt my batteries reloading…

It was a good decision! We sometimes take work too seriously… We sometimes try to do our best, at all times, to any extend… We sometimes put work ahead of our needs. I dared trading it – I dared listening to my needs and I’m still dreaming when thinking back of that gorgeous afternoon, it felt so regenerating!!! I shall keep this in mind and try to repeat it some other day…

How do you feel about leaving work early to do something you like doing? I’m aware that it’s not always possible to do so. I’m lucky that, to some extend, I can leave at certain hours if I really have something going on, but not always… I try to grab the opportunities when they show up, but it always depends on my work schedule… So how do you deal with leaving work – could you do that for something you like? Or would that be a total no-go for you?

3 thoughts on “Friday Flow #39: Trading Work For Some Me-Time

  1. That sounds like a wonderful afternoon! When I’m working at my office, I could probably get away with leaving early like that, but when I’m out of town at sites, it’s not really possible. Right now it is pouring down with rain, so wouldn’t exactly be the best day for me to skip out early. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

A penny for your thoughts... <3

