Friday Flow #32: A Gem Movie Worth Watching

As initially written in my last Friday Flow issue, I indeed intended to get back on the couch and keep reading my art book – but as it was getting darker I decided to watch a movie instead. Let me tell you about this movie that has truly surprised me, which hasn’t happened too often lately (and I watch a lot of movies!) :

Wuthering Heights (2012)

I don’t quite remember how I got into getting the movie. I think I just saw the trailer and saw that it was a story taking place in the late 1800’s and decided to go for it. I must have gotten it through some trading platform on the internet and it has been in my DVD collection for about a year. But as it is with books and movies – you need to be in the right mood for it. Or, put in another way: the book / movie needs to “choose you” (don’t you sometimes feel that way?)

Following my gut feelings I put the movie on and started watching. Dear Lord – it has been a long time since a movie has touched me like that! Now I don’t really mean the story – which is utterly sad by the way – but I mean the images…!

As a big fan of movie soundtracks I noticed there was no music accompanying the storyline. But the sound of the images could not have been better! The view of things and pictures was so detailed and impressive, that you could literally feel the rain on your skin, smell the wet earth, feel the wind blowing through your hair and yourself gasping for air in the wind, feel the warmth of the sunrays and smell the fresh air of the country side. Maybe the pictures reminded me so much of my trips to the Irish country side and it could be a reason I enjoyed them so much. (The movie was shot in Yorkshire / England – googling it made me want to travel there right this second!!!)  But I don’t think a movie has ever managed to make me feel so many sentiments through mere pictures and sounds of nature. It definitely rises up all your senses!

To be honest – even though I’m a huge music and soundtrack fan, I wouldn’t want this movie to be with any sort of sound. The only song being played was at the beginning of the credits – and it was somehow just hurting my ears – it didn’t feel right to be there. During the whole movie all there was was only singing or a soft sound of a traveling band as music, somewhere a bit of harp tunes, but that was it. No edited finished songs like you’d find it on a CD or such. The story felt plain, but utterly normal and natural like that, without any cheesy tune being played during specially sad or exciting scenes as done so in so many other movies. It didn’t need that to underline the storyline.

Storyline

A poor boy of unknown origins is rescued from poverty and taken in by the Earnshaw family where he develops an intense relationship with his young foster sister, Cathy. Based on the classic novel by Emily Brontë.

I had been recommended to watch another version of the movie instead, but because it was harder to get it I ended up getting this version here by Andrea Arnold, made in 2012. Out of curiosity, I afterwards looked at the trailer of the recommended version with Juliette Binoche from 1992, but it was so old fashioned in the cheesy way which is overloaded with music that I decided to let that go… Maybe the version of 2009 would be an option, it would be interesting to compare movie versions.

I haven’t read the novel so I’m not familiar with many of the details, but I’ve done a little bit of research and apparently this version of 2012 I watched was way off the book – starting with the looks of one of the main characters Heathcliff. Since I haven’t read the novel, I’m not emotionally too attached to the story and took it as an own. Therefore I can just really say I thought the movie was great and deserves the awards it got.

Regarding some quite brutal scenes concerning animals (which even I couldn’t always fully keep watching) I found this reassuring post of the member “DotTheEyes” on IMDB:

There are four scenes involving live animals, with a sheep’s throat being cut, a rabbit’s neck being broken and two dogs seen hanging from their collars from a fence and a branch, implying that they are left to die. Assurances have been provided by the production company explaining in detail how these scenes were filmed, including detail of special effects employed, so as not to harm any of the animals involved.

This took away the little negative feelings I had about the movie. I can truly recommend this movie for any nature lover out there – a true gem of a movie ❤

A penny for your thoughts... <3

