Friday Flow #18: Dare Being Different

Have you ever done anything in an unusual way that doesn’t “go with the flow”? Been different in a positive way? Done something differently? How did that make you feel?

It might make you feel “right” because you dare doing something your way, which might be just different from the norm. There’s nothing wrong with that!

Often we don’t gather enough courage to wear something specific or act a different way because we fear it might come across nerdy, weird or plainly “different”, which is mostly judged negatively. But daring makes us feel more self-confident because we feel we are “true” to ourselves and do it the “right way”, no matter what everybody else thinks.

Also – you never know: you might inspire somebody todo something different themselves. You might give them a smirk, a smile, kick their behinds to finally do something about whatever you inspired them. I often envy those people in a positive way – it makes me wish I had the courage, the spirit, the freshness to do something like that as well. It gives my soul a kick and reminds me that I too, like to do those sort of things and should do them more often. Or it makes me feel happy for that particular moment, just enjoying someone elses way of life or creativity.

Like the other day when I passed this shop window and stunned – the display dummies were actually kissing!!! Maybe I live at the other end of the world, but it was the first time I’ve ever seen that in a shop window – ever. In the whole world.

watermarked-kissing puppets

I thought if some people might be bothered about them, and if the shop would not get into trouble for that? But then I stopped and just thought about myself – and I really enjoyed the display! I thought it was neat, different, creative, and spread a great feel of summer freshness. I thought – good for you, fellow shop window designer! You’ve had the courage to do something differently and am sure you stirred lots of feelings inside many passer by’s – and isn’t that what art is all about?

I’d like to challenge you this month: try to do something different, out of the way, unusual… and see how it makes you or your surroundings feel! Share this with me, I’d love to hear about it ❤

2 thoughts on “Friday Flow #18: Dare Being Different

A penny for your thoughts... <3

