Friday Flow #16: Quotes To Learn From

The other day I finished reading a book by Cathy Kelly called “Once In A Lifetime“. I like looking into different Irish writers and this was my first book by her. It took me a while to get used to her plot – it seemed as if she was jumping from character to character a bit too much for my taste, but looking back I quite enjoyed reading it and the book leaves you with a good feeling. There are several subjects mentioned in the book, and the main one I feel was age and ageing.

What I liked most about the book though is that nearly every chapter started off with a quote. I really enjoyed reading those quotes and usually put down the book for a few minutes to muse about what the quote said. I’d like to share them with you in this week’s Friday Flow issue ❤

1.) Be kind to other women. It really works – most of the time. And even on those days when it doesn’t, it’ll make you feel better inside.

2.) Be true to yourself. Sounds mad, doesn’t it? I mean, what’s true? But you’ll know when you get there, trust me on this.

3.) Learn how to say no. Practise. Say it at least once every day and you know what? You’ll get better at it.

4.) When you’re annoyed, don’t speak from that place inside yourself that nurtures all past hurts. That will just make it all worse.

5.) Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.

6.) It’s never too late to stop and change the way you’re going. Never.

7.) What doesn’t destroy you makes you stronger. I just hope you don’t have to go through that process in the first place. But if you do, it’s true. Trust me.

8.) Sometimes, you can’t fix it. You just have to let go.

9.) Be kind to yourself. Love yourself. Nobody else is going to be able to if you don’t first. It’s a hard lesson, that one.

10.) Live for now. Not for tomorrow or yesterday. Now. you don’t know what will happen tomorrow, and yesterday is gone, so all you have is this moment. Enjoy it.

11.) Fight for who you are. It takes a long time to find who you are, but when you do, take care of that person. She’s one of the most precious friends you’ll ever have.

12.) => no quote on this chapter, so I’ll add one I like: “Worry is a total waste of time. It doesn’t change anything. All it does is steal your joy and keeps you very busy doing nothing.”

13.) Only one person can change your life, and that’s you. Don’t wait for anyone else to do it, Prince Charming or otherwise. Be your own prince.

14.) Trust your instincts. I didn’t trust any part of me, so I discounted my instincts too. But when I thought about it, nine times out of ten, my original instinct had been right. I just hadn’t paid attention to it.

15.) Life seems so long when you’re in the middle of it, but when you know it’s going to end soon, you realise how little time we have on earth. Don’t waste it.

16.) => no quote on this chapter either, here’s another one for you then: “Don’t be afraid to fail. Be afraid not to try.”

17.) Get down on your knees every day and say thank you. Even if you don’t feel grateful all the time, practise it, and one day you will appreciate all the good things. And that’s one of the greatest gifts of all.

18.) Speak out of love and a desire to make things better.

19.) => one more here from me to you: “Love is like the creeping vine that withers if it has nothing to embrace.”

20.) Do what makes you happy. Tell the people you love that you love them. Forget about waiting for a rainy day. Do it now.

21.) => and a last one now for you: “You are the author of your own life story. You can start a new chapter anytime you choose.”

I hope you enjoyed the quotes and that you find time to give them a little thought – it’s worth it 🙂

Would you like to share your own little quote? I’d love to read it ❤

A penny for your thoughts... <3

