Friday Flow #14: Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself

It’s midnight going into Friday and while brushing my teeth and preparing to go to bed I realized that I had nothing prepared for tomorrow’s Friday Flow. Like, n.o.t.h.i.n.g. Being so busy with my closet purge I just totally forgot about it! I growled and thought: what a mess…! I have some posts prepared, some ideas written down, some drafts out there, but these posts were all too undone to be able to finish up everything, along with preparing the corresponding photographs.

And then I halted and thought to myself: who would care anyhow?

It’s not that I don’t appreciate my fellow followers and readers, I am so very grateful to have a handful of them 😀 (When I read about other people writing about their followers and likes, I feel like blushing, because I’m over the top if I get as much as, say, 33 views like last day? I think that was my top score ^^). But it’s not as if I’ll be losing a job or something terrible would happen if I don’t have anything posted on Friday morning 7am local time^^.

So why am I being so hard on myself?

This behaviour has gotten me into deep trouble. I’d be so stressed out in different situations that it wasn’t good at all for my health and for my soul. Several times I messed up big time because I wanted to do something perfect, and due to the stress I didn’t manage to do it perfectly, and that would cause me yet another trauma at showing what I can really do, and I’d be very nervous the next time I’d be in a similar situation. Now I’m not only talking about tests or competitions or anything, but basically with everything I do I just set up such high standards that most of the time it’s not really healthy anymore.

So I reminded myself again: why did I start this blog? Well, I wanted to try out something new. I wanted to be a bit creative and, through pictures, show a bit of my creativity and what I like to capture with my camera. I wanted to share my experience at trying to get my bedroom organized and tidy, and maybe get some tips and help with it, find other opinions. And – and this is where my high set standard pole comes in – I wanted to “prove myself” that I was able to successfully set up a blog on my own with no help of anyone else and without telling my family and friends where this platform is, so I would earn every single like, and every single follower, due to what I’m writing and sharing.

But the question is again: why being so hard on yourself? Does it matter in the end? Let me tell you: no, it doesn’t. It would be much easier if you would just go with the flow and be easy on yourself, be kinder to yourself. It would be better for your own health, your own mind, and for the whole society around us in this western world. We have to learn how to set back our standards, how to slow down our lives, because we only got this one here, and we need to live it to its fullest and try to be happy and make the ones around us happy as well. Because THAT is what really matters ❤

Fifteen minutes later, I can say I have done a good job saving this Friday Flow issue after all 🙂 What do you think? One more thing I’d like to share with you: I’ve been introduced to the Pareto Principle the other day, which totally shocked me – what an eye opener!!! (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this lovely video I found online here) It made me realise that, say, in my job, even though I’d know I’m doing a good job, I’d spend hours trying to get it perfect and working long days to get the final 20% right, even though 80% of it was already good enough!

I’m leaving you to your thoughts now, let it sink in, and share with me what you think. I’d love to hear from you

2 thoughts on “Friday Flow #14: Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself

  1. Giving you a hi-five, sistah! 😉 I can stress myself to pieces too. Lately I’ve gotten in the habit of loosening up by asking “what’s the worst that can happen if I don’t do this?”.

    And, my friends and family don’t know I have this blog too. It’s a delicious secret, isn’t it? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you 😀 I really love your “quiet-down-sentence”, I shall try that as well…^^ Thanks for that tip!
      Really :)? That’s hilarious :D!!! I told some of my closest friends / family about it, but I don’t think they assume I’m this active, and I never share the link, not until next year 😉 Good for you :)!!!

      Liked by 1 person

A penny for your thoughts... <3

