Friday Flow #8: Mindful Listening

Do you sometimes sit down and just listen to music, without doing anything else to distract yourself which moves the actual art of music into the background? Mindful listening can be very rewarding. I chose a song here for you – if you have a moment, stop doing anything you’re doing and just sit down and listen to this piece of music, to the sounds, to the voices, to the instruments… I’ll write more about the artist in a bit, but first, take your time and just listen ❤

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

…don’t cheat – finish listening 😉 …

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

…are you sure?…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ok, here I go…:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I came across this very special musician called Luc Arbogast at a medieval fair in France. I heard this beautiful soprano voice from down a cobblestone road and immediately directed towards the standing crowd. The piece of music was just finished and people were clapping. I peeked around the crowd to find a bald, tattooed and pierced guy sitting on a chair with a lute, explaining all about the next song. Oh great – a duo! I thought. I wondered where the soprano woman went to, which of the people around him was the voice that I had just heard. Well then, he started playing his lute. And singing… And I realized – gee, he was the soprano voice!!!

It was a stunning little street concert. I immediately bought his CD. His music and his voice was so touching, so deep, so different… it was incredible to see him sing so softly, it totally contradicted his appearance. And I just love the way he can switch between his lower and higher voice – it gives him such an enriching variety!

I listened to his CD the other day again, and this song “Maria” just always strikes me, makes me stop doing whatever I’m doing, and just listen (or even sing along)… It spreads a beautiful, nearly hurtful melancholy. Which is totally ok – we can’t always be happy 😉 I’m no expert in the Latin language but the lyrics might say something about Maria losing his son. Hey – Easter is up next week, and therefore I’d like to share this Friday Flow post of this matching piece of music with you. Do take your time and look into Luc’s music a bit more, he’s got some wonderful jewels and deserves all attention.

Hope your mindful listening-experience was good and you’ve found a new artist to put down on your fav’s list ❤

A penny for your thoughts... <3

