The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

Browsing through my WordPress Reader I ended up reading a post by Pixie Dust Beach about a book review that made me very curious (=> visit her blog and read her post here: https://pixiedustbeach.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/decluttering/)

She wrote a book review about Marie Kondo’s new book “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing”. Her book review was very uplifting and positive, and I wanted to know more about the book and looked it up on Amazon, where I was able to have a look inside the book and read the introduction and the beginning of the first chapter. After that, I looked the author up on youtube and found this introduction video:

Her view of the organisation problem is very interesting. She states that most of us never actually learned how to properly tidy-up and organise.

Thinking about it, I have a somewhat different approach to it. As a child, I used to be quite organised – every once in a while I’d have a mess, yes, but I alwas ended up tidying around so my toys and dolls would be all back in their spot. My mother made me tidy up since I was a very small child, she’d help me and do it together with me because she thought it was important I did it on my own. At school we got grades for what our desks looked like, and I always (…always!) got the highest mark for it. It was just at home and with the age that I ended up gathering more and more things. The more you travel around, the more hobbies you got, the more mementos, things, books and craft supplies end up in your room.

So many times I felt bad and unhappy about my mess, claiming that I just had too much stuff. So many times people told me that it wasn’t true – that the problem was that I had not enough space for all of it 😉 It’s a bit of both, isn’t it?

I tried to think about Marie Kondo’s guide sentence:

“If it doesn’t make you happy, it has to go.”

Well – most of my things make me happy I’d say, for the moment… Most of my things are things I need for a craft idea or project, and if it’s gone, I won’t be able to find it again.

I know, not the perfect approach of trying to declutter – but the book surely landed on my wish-list and I’ll try to muse a bit more about what I’ve read so far. The book reviews all sound astonishing, positive, bright, and nearly “too good to be true” 🙂

Share with me: have you read the book and has it helped you to get yourself organised at home? I’d love to hear from you 🙂

26 thoughts on “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

  1. Yes I have read the book, and I think it helps me 🙂
    But everyone’s definition of ‘joy’ is different – so maybe for some people, things truly sparks joy. And according to KonMari – there’s no need to discard those things!
    Thanks for the mention and good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the book and am actively using her KonMari Method right now to de clutter our house. For me, it’s been transformative, primarily in how I look at my possessions. Last weekend I removed well over 300 articles of clothing from the house. This weekend I’m working on jewellery and my crafts room. I’m blogging about it if you’d like to see before & after photos, plus my thoughts. 🙂

    https://whatbringsjoy.wordpress.com/2015/04/19/some-life-changing-magic/

    Liked by 1 person

A penny for your thoughts... <3

